The Rules of Opposite Gender Friendships | Foundation Restoration

By Ashley McIlwain

Growing up I always got along better with guys. Unlike most of the girls in my class, my closest friends were guys. Girls just didn’t seem to like me too much, and I wasn’t a fan of the drama that often came with girlfriends. Instead, I found guys to be straightforward, simple, and relatively drama free. Plus, my interests aligned better with the male population – sports, sports, and more sports. For whatever reason, I just clicked with guys better than girls despite my best efforts.

While being surrounded by my guy pals worked well for most of my life, there was a point where this became something I needed to think twice about. That point was when I began entering into serious relationships. Suddenly I realized that having a best friend that was a guy could present some issues and challenges when dating.

article found here

Leave a comment